Search

Master North American Studies


Deutsch    Français

The interdisciplinary M.A. program in North American Studies at the University of Augsburg (NAS) provides students with in-depth knowledge of the history, culture and political systems of North America as well as with methodological tools for research on the region. Although it focuses mainly on the United States and Canada, NASA differs form similar programs in so far as Mexico and the Caribbean are included in the curriculum. Spanish and French have the same status as English in the language and culture related parts of the program.

Research on North America has a long tradition at the University of Augsburg. NAS evolved from a co-operation between the Institute for Canadian Studies, the Chair for Political Science, the Chair for American Studies, the Chair for New English Literatures and Cultural Studies, the Chair for Transatlantic Cultural History, the Chair for Romance Linguistics, the Chair for Romance Literature (French/Italian) and the Professorship for Romance Literature (Iberian Studies).

The interdisciplinary approach of NAS offers an integrated perspective on the diversity of the North American continent. With a huge variety of densely interlocked courses, the involved chairs and institutes provide students with possibilities for specialization based on personal interests.

Employment opportunities:

In a globalized world North America still occupies center stage in political, economic and cultural matters. Thus, job candidates with expertise on this area will find opportunities in many places: in the public sector or international organizations; in the media or in the culture business; with NGOs or publishing houses; in private enterprises or education and universities. The job perspectives of NAS graduates are as diverse as North America as such.

Program Details:

Admission: Applications are only possible for the winter term. For admission requirements see “application”.
Application deadline: Applications are accepted from May 20, 2017 - September 1, 2017
Start of program: Mid-October 2017
Duration: Four semesters,during which 120 ECTS credits must be acquired.
Course languages: German / English / French / Spanish

Academic degree:

Master of Arts (M.A.)


Contact:

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annika McPherson

E-Mail: annika.mcpherson@philhist.uni-augsburg.de

Telephone:

Fax:

+49 821 598 - 5763

+49 821 598 14 5763

Room: D4032
Office hours:

Thursday 12-1 p.m. and by appointment via email

Mailing
address:
Universität Augsburg
Philologisch-Historische Fakultät
Juniorprofessur für
Neue Englische Literaturen und Kulturwissenschaft
Universitätsstrasse 10
86135 Augsburg
Germany

Suche

Master Nordamerika-Studien


English    Français

Der interdisziplinäre Masterstudiengang Nordamerika-Studien der Universität Augsburg (NAS) vermittelt fundierte Kenntnisse der Geschichte, Kultur und Politik Nordamerikas, sowie ein analytisches Instrumentarium zu deren Erforschung. Sein regionaler Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Vereinigten Staaten und Kanada, doch anders als in vergleichbaren Studiengängen finden auch Mexiko und die Karibik Eingang in das Curriculum. In den kultur- und sprachbezogenen Teilen des Studiums treten Französisch und Spanisch gleichberechtigt neben das Englische.

Die Erforschung Nordamerikas hat an der Universität Augsburg eine lange Tradition. So entstand NAS aus einer Kooperation zwischen dem Institut für Kanada-Studien, der Professur für Politikwissenschaft, dem Lehrstuhl für Amerikanistik, der Juniorprofessur für Neue Englische Literaturen und Kulturwissenschaft, dem Lehrstuhl für die Geschichte des europäisch-transatlantischen Kulturraums, dem Lehrstuhl für Romanische Sprachwissenschaft, dem Lehrstuhl für Romanische Literaturwissenschaft (Französisch/Italienisch) sowie der Professur für Romanische Literaturwissenschaft (Iberoromanistik).

Der interdisziplinäre Ansatz ermöglicht Studierenden einen ganzheitlichen Blick auf die kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt Nordamerikas. Die beteiligten Fachbereiche bieten hierzu eng aufeinander abgestimmte Lehrveranstaltungen an und lassen Studierenden Möglichkeiten für eine fachliche Spezialisierung, die ihren Interessen entspricht.

Berufliche Perspektiven:

Der nordamerikanische Raum spielt auch in der heutigen globalisierten Welt eine herausragende politische, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Rolle, so dass die im Studiengang vermittelten interkulturellen Kompetenzen vielfältige berufliche Perspektiven eröffnen: in staatlichen und internationalen Institutionen und Organisationen, in der Welt der modernen Kommunikationsmedien, in kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen, in der freien Wirtschaft oder im Bildungswesen.

Der Studiengang auf einen Blick:

Zulassung: Jeweils im Wintersemester. Zu Zulassungsvoraussetzungen siehe "Bewerbung"
Bewerbungsfrist: 20. Mai bis 1. September 2017
Studienbeginn: Mitte Oktober 2017
Regelstudienzeit: Vier Semester, in denen 120 LP erworben werden müssen
Unterrichtssprachen: Deutsch / Englisch / Französisch / Spanisch

Abschluss:

Master of Arts (M.A.)

Studiengangsberatung:

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Annika McPherson

E-Mail: annika.mcpherson@philhist.uni-augsburg.de

Telefon:

Fax:

+49 821 598 - 5763

+49 821 598 14 5763

Raum:

Sprechstunde:

4032 (Gebäude D)

Montag + Donnerstag 12:00-13:00 Uhr sowie n.V. per E-Mail

Postadresse: Universität Augsburg
Philologisch-Historische Fakultät
Juniorprofessur für
Neue Englische Literaturen und Kulturwissenschaft
Universitätsstrasse 10
D-86135 Augsburg