Search

Master’s Program in English and American Studies


The Master’s program in English and American Studies at the University of Augsburg distinguishes itself by its various options for students in to choose their own focus areas. A thorough immersion in professional disciplinary research as well as the acquisition of practical methods (e.g. academic writing) are important components of our comprehensive program.

Interdisciplinary research and practical projects are also central aspects of the curriculum, so that graduating master’s students have multifaceted qualifications when entering the job market, or substantial preparation for their doctoral research.

Each student chooses a major and a minor. The major can be either in Literary Studies or in Linguistics, and can focus on different areas within the field of English or American Studies. Also, each student chooses a minor among Anglophone Cultural Studies, Didactics, Literary Studies, and Linguistics, according to his or her own interests. In addition to selecting from a broad range of course offerings, it is possible to turn one’s own research interests into a course paper ("independent study").

The particular strenghts of the University of Augsburg master's program are the excellent support from faculty, the well-equipped library, the many study-abroad opportunities, and the possibilities for e-learning. Thanks to these strengths, the department of English and American Studies at Augsburg has regularly been ranked as one of the best in Germany in recent years.

 

Information and Advice

If you have questions about the program and the application process, please click on the links above and read the pages carefully. If you have questions after reading these pages, or if you have been admitted to the program and need further information, contact the program coordinator, Dr. Christian Hoffmann (English Department, University of Augsburg).

Suche

Masterstudiengang English and American Studies


Warum gerade in Augsburg studieren?

Der Master English and American Studies (Anglistik/Amerikanistik) an der Universität Augsburg zeichnet sich vor allem durch seine vielseitigen Optionen zur individuellen Schwerpunktsetzung aus. Gleichzeitig werden sowohl fachliche Vertiefung als auch handwerklichen Methoden (z. B. "Academic Writing") umfassend gefördert. Auch interdisziplinäre Forschung sowie praktische Projektarbeit bilden zentrale Aspekte, so dass die Studierenden nach Abschluss ihres Masters eine vielschichtige Qualifikation für den Arbeitsmarkt vorzuweisen haben bzw. fundiert auf eine folgende Promotion vorbereitet sind.

Das Masterstudium kann literatur- oder sprachwissenschaftlich, im anglistischen oder amerikanistischen Bereich gewichtet werden. Daneben wählt jede/r Studierende nach eigener Präferenz unter Didaktik, Kultur-, Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft ein Nebengebiet. Neben einem breit gefächerten Kursangebot können Studierende im Rahmen einer Independent Study auch eigene Forschungsinteressen zum Kursinhalt erheben.

Besonders attraktiv für Masterstudierende sind die an der Universität Augsburg sehr gute Betreuung durch die Lehrenden, die Ausstattung der Bibliotheken, die Förderung von Auslandsaufenthalten und die unkomplizierten Möglichkeiten des E-Learnings – all dies Aspekte des Anglistik/Amerikanistikstudiums, die dazu geführt haben, dass der Fachbereich Anglistik/Amerikanistik der Universität Augsburg in den letzten Jahren regelmäßig durch Universitätsrankings als einer der besten Deutschlands auszeichnet wurde.

 

 

Studienberatung:

Bei Fragen zum Studiengang (Inhalte, Bewerbung, Organisation) wenden Sie sich an Dr. Christian Hoffmann.